Treble Clef of Praise: Fred – 79 yr old Praising God solo “Let Me Be Jesus”

God has given me a mission to share His truth through music – Psl 40:3 “He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in the Lord.” I pray that lives are transformed and God speaks to each person through the message in my songs. It is so exciting to see God work, and to see answered prayer when we follow His leading. He really does show up! I would be remiss if I didn’t share this testimony with you of how God has done that in at least two lives – Fred’s… and mine.

Fred is a 79 old gentleman from S.C. who heard one of my songs – “Let Me Be Jesus To Someone Today” on the radio. I got a call from his wife back in October of 2013 asking if it would be OK if her husband sang my song in church one day. Of course, I was delighted. So I proceeded to send him lyric sheets and background music for his endeavor. He sent me a very sweet Thank You card and advised me that “no song in his 78 years had touched him the way this one did” and that he got choked up just thinking about it. He felt God calling him to sing it in his church. The thing was – he had never even sung in the choir before – much less attempted a solo. But he felt God calling him to step out of his comfort zone and ask the choir director if it would be possible. Six months had passed and I got the below email from Fred.

Good Morning Ms. Wolf. My name is Fred Bxxxx and you responded to an e-mail and a phone call from my wife, Lydia. She told you of my instant love of the song, “Let Me Be Jesus To Someone Today”, and you were kind enough to send me a copy of the song along with the written words, music and even a CD with backup. She said that I was interested in singing it in our little church here in Simpsonville, SC. (Membership 71) There were about 45 members present.

I was so in love with your song that every time I talked about it I broke down in tears. I went to our choir director and asked if he would listen to me and see if he felt I could sing it as a solo. I broke down each time I mentioned it, but he said that it would come. He is an excellent singer with an awesome musical background. I also asked him to coach me in how to give it my best. Which he did.

I finally was able to bring the CD in so he could hear it. A couple of weeks later he asked me to try and sing it. I did. I didn’t cry and he said I needed a little work, but he was sure I could manage singing as soon as I could overcome my emotions. I practiced at home and sang it for the director about every two weeks and made his corrections.

Well I finally gave it my best last Sunday, 2 March. The director, and everyone else in the congregation said I did a great job. I don’t know, but I gave it my all. I was terrified until I stood in the pulpit, then the butterflies went away and I sang as loud as I felt I could without yelling. I was so happy. Lydia, my wife said it was perfect but her view may be a little prejudiced.

There is no way I could possibly say “THANK YOU” enough for helping me with my dream. I am 79 years old and have never even sang in a choir before, much less attempted a solo. I will wait another 79 years because I felt so inadequate, but so happy that you provided me a message to deliver. Something that REALLY spoke to me. Thank you, thank you, thank you, for your generous gift.

I do not know anything about copyright laws, but if there is something I should do please advise me. Again, please accept my sincere thanks for your kindness. Hugs & kisses, prayers & wishes. Fred

Wow!  What a blessing you are Fred!  I asked if I could post his letter to encourage others – no matter what age you are – to step out in faith when God leads you.  I thought this was a beautiful testimony of just how GOD does his thing.  I certainly didn’t plan to reach Fred – he didn’t plan on singing in front of a congregation – and yet GOD decided with two willing followers to accomplish much and bring Glory to His Name!  I am so amazed that Fred was so touched by my song.  And so thankful that he shared his experience of stepping out in faith.  I pray that we all learn a lesson from this fine gentleman.  It doesn’t matter how old we are.  When God choses to work through us – He can make a difference through us!

 

 

 

 

About Praiseworthy

PraiseWorthy seeks to bless the world with new Christian songs in a variety of genres including CCM, Worship, Gospel, Inspirational Country, Southern Gospel, Christian EDM, Pop, Romantic Love Songs, Wedding Songs, and Instrumentals. We foster relationships between our favorite Worship Leaders, Artists and Songwriters and encourage collaboration to bring the heart of God into each song. PraiseWorthy provides music licensing opportunities for Church Worship, Artist and Worship Team Recording, Film and TV as well as Streaming, Web Services and other Projects. We also write custom songs specifically for your church, conference or event so if you'd like a Worship song to go along with your message or sermon series and just can't seem to find the right one let's create a new one together.
This entry was posted in Treble Clef of Praise. Bookmark the permalink.