GraceNotes: What Am I Supposed To Do

Have you ever run into someone casually that just made a deep impression on you?  My neighbor, Lavern, is a sophisticated, polished woman – I’d guess she is probably in her 70’s but you would never know it by looking at her.  I don’t know her well, I just chat with her a few times a year during our annual neighborhood yard sale.  She is normally very upbeat and full of sunshine, but last week she invited me into her beautiful home to show me her garden out back.  She spoke of the loss of her husband several years ago with a heart-wrenching sadness as she questioned her life’s purpose without him.  She inspired this Country Song that I suspect many widows can relate to.  I pray that God comforts those who have lost their life partner and enables them to trust Him until they see one another again.

WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO
 
Verse 1
The bed is empty on your side, And all I do is sit and cry
‘Cause I can’t get you off my mind
And I don’t know what I’m supposed to do without you

The photographs of you and me, the way things always used to be
Making funny faces, kissing at the beach
I don’t know what I’m supposed… to do

Chorus
And so I’m praying…
God take all the pieces of this broken heart of mine
Keep me safe within your hands until it’s in your time
When I get to go to Heaven to be next to my beloved
The promise that I’ll see him, that’ll have to be enough
In the meantime, ooooooooo  in the meantime  I’ll trust

Verse 2
Hanging clothes that have no life, Reminiscin’ of the days gone by
Doing all I can to keep you alive
‘Cause I don’t know what I’m supposed to do…without you

What should I do with this neon sign, the fishing poles and camping lights
No wonder I can’t get you off my mind
I don’t know what I’m supposed… to do

Repeat Chorus

Verse 3
For 50 years I’ve been your wife, You and me been side by side
Now I’m trying just to say goodbye
But I don’t know what I’m supposed to do…without you

They say that time will heal my heart, that one day I won’t fall apart
And God just gave you a head start
But I don’t know what I’m supposed to do…without you

Repeat Chorus

© 2013 Praiseworthy Publishing
Deborah Wolf
http://www.PraiseWorthyPublishing.com
 

About Praiseworthy

PraiseWorthy seeks to bless the world with new Christian songs in a variety of genres including CCM, Worship, Gospel, Inspirational Country, Southern Gospel, Christian EDM, Pop, Romantic Love Songs, Wedding Songs, and Instrumentals. We foster relationships between our favorite Worship Leaders, Artists and Songwriters and encourage collaboration to bring the heart of God into each song. PraiseWorthy provides music licensing opportunities for Church Worship, Artist and Worship Team Recording, Film and TV as well as Streaming, Web Services and other Projects. We also write custom songs specifically for your church, conference or event so if you'd like a Worship song to go along with your message or sermon series and just can't seem to find the right one let's create a new one together.
This entry was posted in GraceNotes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.